Basil Leaf Café - Chicago Italian restaurant, Eatery & Wine Bar. order online make reservation,view menus,take out,delivery,catering, private dining room, reviews and see coupons.Serving downtown and Lincoln Park, Italian food, Gluten Free Pasta

Welcome Guest,   SIGN UP   SIGN IN

Internet Reviews

Chicago Alphabet Soup's Blog

Bravo and Encore

HideGino - 02/07/2013

Italy Comes to Chicago

HideGino - 07/14/2012

Italy Comes to Chicago

Castello del Poggio BrachettoLiving in Chicago and being a food blogger for fun has way more excitement to the food adventures than I can say. There are new discoveries that the palate may delight. There are existing eateries that serve as magnets for returning culinary lovers. Many restaurants provide an atmosphere of community for large parties consisting of friends or family members. We shall not discount any of the boutique restaurants that provide intimate settings and swell background jazz music. And with Chicago having one of the world’s largest global communities, ethnic dining awaits you at practically every corner. The reasons for loving dining at Chicago’s restaurants are endless. But what is more fantastic is that even with staple cuisines like Chinese, Mexican, and Italian, there are twists that make such restaurants seem like a first-time find. Such was the case during a recent excursion to Basil Leaf Cafe at 2465 N. Clark Street in Chicago’s Lincoln Park neighbourhood.

When I began Chicago Alphabet Soup, I had been adamant about avoiding Chinese, Mexican, and Italian restaurants — Chinese restaurants because I will scream if someone offers beef with brocolli, general chicken, or sweet and sour what-not ever again; Mexican because you can have enchiladas, frijoles, and Tex-Mex tacos only so much; and Italian because spaghetti and meatballs — me being pescatarian — and ravioli are as exhaustive as any can of Chef Boy-Ardee. But I received an invitation to meet with several other food bloggers and sommeliers for a food and wine pairing at Basil Leaf Cafe. Seeing that the restaurant’s menu online was more rustic, an indication that we would not have our fair share of red sauce splashing about our plates, I agreed to the dinner gathering and replied with my appetite as a guest.

As it turned out, the dinner and wine pairing was with Francesco Zonin of Casa Vinicola Zonin USA. Imagine an evening of fine wine and delicious food with the president of Zonin USA. Humourous and looking more like a fashion model, after providing a bit of history on the company, he explained that the dinner would feature Casa Vinicola Zonin’s Tenuta Ca’ Bolani Estate wines. Now, Tenuta Ca’ Bolani grows internationally known wines such as Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Pinot Grigio, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot. Also, there are well indigenous varieties, such as Traminer, Muller Thurgau, Tocai Friulano, Pinot Bianco, and Refosco dal Peduncolo Rosso. Not that my wine snobbery is polished, I have yet to drink an Italian wine — white or red — that I found not to my liking. And, honestly, not being chic-chic enough to pair the right wines with my food, this evening was certain to be one worthy of documenting.

Amouse Bouche

For our amouse bouche, we started with baked, fresh figs topped with gorgonzola and mascarpone cheese and drizzled with a balsamic redux. Let me just say that I have baked cookies with figs in them and my grandmother had a way of making wine with figs and muscadines. Never have I dined on figs prepared the way they were this evening. My palate is refined, so hearing the appetizer, I figured that it would be an interesting festival on the tongue. Well, interesting is not the right word to describe how addictive the amouse bouche was. The figs were sweet, of course, but the mixture of cheeses and balsamic redux turned this into a rather tasty dessert. With this course, there was a Zonin Prosecco. This white wine was closer in sweetness to a dessert wine without the sweetness that you get in an ice wine. As an entry into the evening’s dining, the combination of the fig appetizer and the Prosecco was superb.

First CourseThe first course was the initial indication that things were going to be quite splendid for the rest of the evening. There were porcini dusted sea scallops, sweet pea puree, and micro green salad. Although I am a pescatarian, scallops are one seafood item I have tended to shy away from because some restaurants embrace cooking scallops al dente. What that translates to is a tough  texture, the equivalent of chewing a rubber ball. The master chef, sous chef, or head cook at Basil Leaf Cafe must have decided that he or she was not going to serve a scafezza — disaster — to a room full of food lovers. This was the first time I have had scallops so tender that the knife glided through the meat instead of me needing to slice through it. The seasoning, while it could have been heavy-handed and overpowering, was there but faint enough to let the flavour of the scallops come through. The sweet pea puree was a nice complement to the dish and it too was seasoned well enough that the tongue did not scream from too much seasoning. And served with the first course was a Tenuta Ca’Bolani Pinot Grigio. As with any Pinot Grigio, the flavour was light and had a distant fruity tone, ideal on the tongue and accommodating enough to let the dish have the spotlight.

Second Course

For the second course, the vegetarian in me stood on the table and danced. Hmmm. No, not exactly. I shall simply say that I nodded — excessively — in appreciation. This dish consisted of poached pear in Castello del Poggio Moscato D’Asti over baby arugula, topped with gorgonzola cheese, glazed pecans and honey balsamic. The pear was not merely sliced and poached. There had to have been some additional seasoning added because had there been crust, I would have foresaken eating apple pie or peach pie ever again. And because the glaze was not thick like molasses, I smiled even more knowing that this tasty treat did not come from a can. The salad was a nice companion to the pear, green, fresh, and lightly touched with the honey balsamic instead of drowned in it. The wine served with the second course was a Tenuta Ca’ Bolani Sauvignon Blanc, only a notch sweeter than the Pinot Grigio, ideal enough to take a backseat to the pear — that would have made an awesome pie — and the delectable salad.

Third Course

As if the amouse bouche and the first two courses were not splendid enough, the third course was where the chef let it be known that he really shines. Wild mushroom risotto cooked in Tenuta Ca’ Bolani Sauvignon with fennel dusted shrimp sat on plates like works of art that should not be touched. The risotto had been cooked maybe a few seconds past al dente, not the point where it was mushy and thankful that it was not gummy. The plump shrimp exploded with each bite. I imagined them popping as I slowly gnashed away at them while having at the wild mushroom risotto. I know several individuals who swear that they make the best risotto and I made mental notes of them all being liars because the risotto at Basil Leaf Cafe is indeed the best that I have had at Chicago Italian restaurants. Then again, it may have been the combination of seafood with the risotto instead of beef or chicken. Switching up the dish in terms of the meat accompaniment may have been what made the dish that more pleasing to the palate. Add to that a glass of Tunuta Ca’ Bolani Refosco. Granted this wine is served mostly with red meat, the strong currants, wild berry, and plum flavours make this a de rigeour request for me with seafood. Unless the seafood is in a rich, creamy sauce, a full bodied wine like a Refosco will redefine love.

Tenuta Ca' Bolani Refosco.One thing I have discovered with multiple food courses at Italian restaurants is that when the chefs start pulling you in with their addictive dishes, they keep going up in notches until you quiver with an addiction. The fourth course consisted of grilled salmon topped in a balsamic and berry reduction with fingerling potatoes and brussel sprouts. I shall start by saying that I never had an aversion to brussel sprouts as a child, surprisingly never getting enough of them. The brussel sprouts at Basil Leaf Cafe were al dente, but I completed them all the same. As to the grilled salmon, I had a brief vision of me on a psychologist’s couch whining about how I could not live without the dish and how I would make all sorts of promises — none that I would keep — so that I could have more. I tend to prefer my fish seasoned well, barring tartar sauce or even ketchup. Anything sweet on fish has a tendency to detract from the flavour. Then I showed up at Basil Leaf Cafe and that changed with the balsamic and berry reduction. It may have been because the sauce was more of a glaze and not a drenching. And with this feast of bliss was a glass of Feudo Principi Di Butera Nero D’Avola. This lush and impressive red is resplendent with a cherry fragrance and a hint of spice. The texture is smooth and velvety. I mean, it is easy to be lured into thinking you are downing a pricey bottle off wine, but for its complexity in taste, the price is reasonable enough for me to restock my wine cache with some of it.

Fourth Course

Of course by now, everyone at the table has a dreamy, hazy feeling from so much good food and even more fabulous wine. But what meal is complete without a dessert? None, I say. The dessert at Basil Leaf Cafe was indeed a new one to me. Crispy gnocchi with vanilla bean ice cream, topped with chocolate and pistachio came out in a substantial bowl. The ice cream with the chocolate shavings and pistachio was fine all by itself. However, the crispy gnocchi was a surprise and one that I welcomed. Now, I may add that the gnocchi was not crispy like a rice crispy bar and it was not deep-fried, but rather toasted. Not seasoned with anything other than perhaps a faint coat of sugar, what initially looked to be a heavy dessert turned out to be light. With this dessert finale was a dessert wine: a Castello del Poggio Brachetto. This reminded me of an ice wine that I had tried in the Finger Lakes region of New York State — a wine that was incredible and costly to match. And now that I think of it, the dessert was not overly sweet, and perhaps for good reason so that the sweetness of the wine would not create a saccharine crisis for all at the table.

Dessert

This was the second food and wine pairing that I have had within the past few weeks, the first at an exotic Asian boutique restaurant and now this addiction-filled dinner experience at Basil Leaf Cafe. Having partaken of food and wine pairings in the past, there were always dishes where clearly the chefs were trying too hard and they stumbled. What was apparent at Basil Leaf Cafe was that the chef knew the right mixture of ingredients for the dishes and how to present the star and supporting dishes so that nothing competed on the tongue. The wine pairings were worthy, each on the mark. With the photography that I do at all of the restaurants where I visit for journaling, it was also quite nice seeing others engage their food from the taste point of view and from the artistic standpoint. And how often do you get to say you dined with the president of an Italian winery that produces and sells some of the top wines in the world? New friends, new beginnings, wonderful service, and a memorable night of food and wine at one of Chicago’s spectacular Italian eateries. What more could I have asked for?

Cheeky Chicago

Clark's Corner Trattoria

HideAndrea Friedman - 11/29/2010

If you’re on Clark Street in Lincoln Park, you’re probably not looking for a fine dining experience. With Mickeys, the Tin Lizzie and casual sushi restaurants every five steps, this is the area you go to for a quick bite or a Sunday morning bloody mary.
But in between pitchers of beer and dynamite rolls is Basil Leaf Café – or shall I say the Tiffany’s of Clark Street restaurants? You won’t find the rolled-out-of-bed, throw-on-a-pair-of-sweats twenty-something here. Instead, this quaint, Italian-themed restaurant is home to the Lincoln Park foodie-type who wants a classier dining experience without traveling to the Gold Coast.
Walk into this homey, yet inviting restaurant and you feel like you might be in your hip Italian aunt’s living room. The mint walls and floral paintings combined with the polished wooden tables and white tablecloths are surprisingly complimentary to each other. But this isn’t a place you go to for ambiance. Its all about the food.
Whether you’re a pasta person or not, the menu is so versatile that anyone can enjoy a bowl of  full-fledged carbohydrates here. With over thirty different rigatonis, fettuccines and linguinis, you could get a different dish every night of the month.
While at most restaurants I’d say skip the salads, don’t here. Instead of the typical garden or Caprese salad, Basil Leaf has created an array of simple yet perfectly balanced salads. Whether you choose the baby spinach with poached pears, gorgonzola and roasted honey sunflower seeds or the spring mix with dried cranberries, almonds and goat cheese, BL restored my faith in the boring starter salad.
The entrees are filled with fish, steak and chicken, but the pastas are the shining stars. The gorgonzola filled gnocchi with fresh spinach and chopped tomatoes in a cream sauce was perfectly decadent, yet not too rich. While the penne a la vodka with poached salmon, pencil asparagus and peapods was simple and delicious (nutritious?).
And don’t expect a finicky staff here! While some chefs cringe at the thought of changing a dish, our waitress was more than gracious when I asked to swap the salmon for shrimp, even encouraging the other diners to mix and match however they pleased.
Regardless of your choice, a bowl of Basil Leaf’s pasta will warm you up in an instance. And paired with one of their heaping glasses of wine, there really is no wrong.

Yelp

I can't stand how good their food is

HideMeridith E. - 07/14/2011

Well, after my 3rd experience with Basil Leaf, I thought it time to make an educated review.

I can't stand how good their food is. And after reading some of the 2 or 3-star reviews, I feel sorry they didn't have one of my experiences. I love the duality of the seating area--either in the main dining room or the bar. Both offer full-service wait staff, so it just depends on how busy they are and what type of mood your'e in.

I love their bolognese and tortellini w/ peas. I could eat either of those every day for dinner. Also, the gorgonzola mushroom appetizer is nummy! Usually I find gorgonzola to be a bit too pungent for my taste, but this was perfectly salty and earthy. Ooo...I forgot about their spring mix salad with cherries and brie. Seriously decadent.

I've only had dinner there, and both times it definitely had some mood lighting going on. This place would be great for a nice date with good food. The wine selection is decent and the staff will help you choose a glass or bottle that matches the meal.

Watch out for parking. Being on Clark, it's hard to find a spot. There is valet (I think), but just suck it up and take a cab. That way you can enjoy as much wine as you'd like!!!

Mangia people. Mangia!
The experience was wonderful

HideMindy S., Chicago, IL - 03/20/2011

We went to Basil Leaf Cafe as one in our party had a hankering for Fettuccine Alfredo, and we wanted to dine in the area, and we had always wanted to try out BSC.  We were not disappointed.

We had just a short wait on a Saturday night @ 8:30pm.  Our waitress was really amazing - she knew everything on the menu, was enthusiastic and friendly - really the epitome of fantastic customer service.  We also has a person with dietary needs, and the waitress went above and beyond by recommending a few different dishes, and helped us create a customized dinner option to suit our dining partner's needs.

The rolls are freshly baked, served to you one at a time throughout the entire meal, accompanied by olive oil & spices.  The food was very flavorful and savory.  Everybody had to stop themselves from eating too fast, we couldn't get enough.

I highly recommend the butternut squash soup, any of the salads, the lobster ravioli, and the vegetarian gnocci.

The experience was wonderful, the food tasted great, the atmosphere was warm and comforting, and I will definitely be back to try more on their extensive menu.
Basil Leaf has become one of my favorite spots

HideNicki W, Chicago. IL - 07/20/2010

It's been almost a year since my first visit and Basil Leaf has become one of my favorite spots in my neighborhood. In the summertime I sit outside with my dog, read the paper have some coffee salad and soup. The staff is so friendly and I continue to see the same happy faces around which is always positive.

I've tried most of the menu items at this point but you can never go wrong with the tomato basil soup (even on a hot day) as well as the salad with the mixed berries which was the first salad I ever tried there. I love their dressing choices and any fruit or vegetables added to the salads are super fresh. The hot roll they give you with the oil when you sit down can't be beat. Keep that bread basket away from me or else I'll eat the whole thing!

They've also got some really yummy crafty desserts which get shipped in and the list changes all the time. I suggest if you have a sweet tooth, you should get on that!

This is mostly my lunch spot, but I do take people here from time to time in the evening when I want a low-key spot.

Metromix

Bestsellers from two restaurants

HideMetromix - 06/05/2011

Basil Leaf moved from 2460 N. Clark Street to 2465 N. Clark Street in January of 2008 (it reopened in the Sage Food & Wine address, the Basil Leaf's sister spot). Owners merged the menus of the two eateries, keeping bestsellers from both restaurants (they ditched the gourmet carryout market and added more seating). Menu highlights include rigatoni with Italian sausage, bell peppers and onions in a light tomato sauce; chicken Milano with artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, asparagus and linguine; garlic-crusted pork chops with roasted new potatoes; and fettuccine with blue crab meat and sweet peas in a creamy dill sauce. Seafood and veggie items are also well-represented.

Citysearch

Great place

HideAnna Ruth - 02/01/2010

I have been a regular at the Bas Leaf Cafe for years--ever since I can remeber, really. There is amazing food ( i would particularly recommend the butternut squash soup and the gnocci with sun-dried tomatoes) and great service. I have almost never had to wait for a table. My father knows the owner and he is a very nice gentleman. The deserts are also fabulous. They are smll enough so that you are not too full or overwhelmed after eating them but big enough to split betwen two people.
Excellent!

Hideewalkzibm - 06/12/2002

Basil Leaf is easily one of the best finds in Lincoln Park. Everything from the complimentary Bruschetta when you are seated to the fresh fruit water adds the extra touch that makes this dinning experience one you'll remember. The wait staff is impeccably trained - which is a very pleasant surprise considering the very reasonable prices. Try the grilled vegetable pasta - excellent. The outdoor seating is one of the best in chicago.

Centerstage Chicago

Burst-on-your-palate freshness

HideKate Rockwood, Centerstage Reviewer - 08/01/2008

Open since 1998 (it moved to this location in 2008), Basil Leaf serves up typical Italian fare, including pastas, salads, sandwiches and meaty entrees. The eatery shuns the typical cheese-heavy execution of most American renditions in favor of burst-on-your-palate freshness. For instance, penne broccoli with roasted garlic and walnuts in basil oil is addictive and flavorful without being the least bit greasy. The tomato cream dishes are particularly popular here, as are some of the more inventive pasta plates, such as fettuccine jambalaya, with shrimp, chicken, mushrooms, artichokes and Cajun spices.

 

Portions run huge, so your best bet may be splitting an entree and indulging in an appetizer, such as calamari or grilled portabella in balsamic vinegar. Lunches are a bit more reasonably sized and a bit cheaper, though a recent order of soup and salad yielded a cauldron-sized bowl of savory minestrone and a salad that would pass in some restaurants as dinner-size. The sandwiches here are no afterthought either, with skirt steak, mushrooms, onions and tomatoes on ciabatta competing for favorite with chicken, avocado, alfalfa sprouts and tomatoes on multigrain.

 

Dinner entrees run $9.95-$24.95; lunch averages $9.95-$16.95.

 

Average cost: $10-$20

Trip advisor

Gem of an Italian restaurant in Lincoln Park

Hidetruthbetold_10 - 12/28/2011

We went here with our family after strolling up and down Fullerton perusing menus. This place was quaint, cozy, beautifully decorated for the holidays with a huge Christmas tree right in the middle of the dining room! The bar area was an experience all it own with a fireplace, mini lights and a convivial atmosphere. We started with warm crusty rolls served with herbed olive oil for dipping. Careful or you'll spoil your dinner! I had the Chicken Piccatta which I asked to add spinach to the linguini side. It was molto delicioso! My husband had the butternut squash ravioli - savory and sumptuous. My daughter had the pesto gnocchi and my son had the Rigatoni Bolognese - both were truly Italy-quality (my son said it matched his favorite Penne Bolognese enjoyed in the Chianti region of Italy). The service was extremely attentive and so pleasant. When you're next in the Lincoln park area of Chicago, don't hesitate. Go!
“Great Italian restaurant, great food and service”

Hidedocneneng - 10/08/2011

I was visiting with friends from out of town (both first-timers in Chicago) and at the last night we wanted to eat at an authentic italian restaurant that is not a chain. There are a lot After extensive research of menus and diner's reviews, we picked Basil Leaf Cafe. We also wanted to visit the Lincoln Park area, to get away from the craziness (and tourist trap restaurants) downtown.

The food and service was exceptional. It was a nice summer evening so the windows were open and lining the windows were (of course) -- basil plants. The food came at the expected time frame. Our server was very attentive, even though it was moderately busy. Calamari was good. they have 2 choices of marinara - one is a spicy one and we got both. (i didnt think the spicy one was spicy at all) Lobster ravioli was great. My other friend had the Linguini carbonara and he liked it to. They also have a good wine selection - if you like sweeter wines, the proscecco they have is good.

If one looks at my reviews, I go to a lot of Italian restaurants, so I think I can tell what is good and what is ok. I definitely stay away from the chain restaurants if it's a special occasion.

I would definitely go back here the next time I visit Chicago.
“A gem of a restaurant in Linol Park”

Hidekoi7 - 09/25/2011

During our 3 week visit to Chicago we again visited this restaurant on 4 occasions with our different friends who were all as equally impressed as ourselves. The menu is just unbelieveable. The service is impeccable, the staff are attentive and knowledge of the menu and they will also adjust dishes to suit your requirements. They also have a bar area with an extensive range of beers and wines from all over the world. This is definitely one restaurant you must try for quality and value